top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrigitte Potter

Coming up for air over here

Literally me after the last month...




Classes are back! I'm taking 3 courses again this term:

EU Politics and Policy

  • Basically an EU policy analysis course, but applies to the skill of policy analysis anywhere

Europes Role in Global Migration

  • This course focuses on forced migration from Northern Africa and the Middle East to Europe

  • Some of the most intriguing topics: border security, visa controls, smuggling vs. trafficking

Political Elites and Decision Making

  • This has been my favorite!

  • Why certain people decide to become politicians, why voters vote them into office, how we can use that knowledge to shape policy, what politicians are actually capable of achieving in office etc etc

  • Biggest take away thus far -- we need more diverse people in office: women, people of color, mixed education backgrounds


4 week workshop series

LSE offered a workshop series with a representative from the UK Home Office this last month. This was particularly fun because it didn't focus on theory and was strictly from a government perspective. In one of the seminars we were given countries, researched those countries, then tried to make deals with other countries in regards to migration. I was Libya, a transit and sending country for many irregular migrants to Europe via the Mediterranean. I mainly focused on agreements with Italy and the EU as a whole, but had to come at it from the perspective that Libya does not necessarily care if people migrate irregularly across our borders. Being a sending country means there is an economy of people smuggling that helps locally. Libya also has serious human rights violations and little concern for that when it comes to migrants and the country has a whole is experiencing political instability. It was eye opening to have to advocate from that side and realize what other countries (such as those in Europe) are up against when trying to make agreements.


Prime Minister of Belgium

The Prime Minister of Belgium came to LSE and spoke about the future of Belgium and Europe. Tickets were given out on a lottery basis since this obviously a big event and I managed to get one! Like most politicians, he spoke very broadly but it was interesting to hear nonetheless. Also fascinating - observing the media, other diplomats, and security at the event!



Rotary Peace Conference

The Rotary Peace Conference was held in London and my host club here in London was kind enough to send me!

The lineup of speakers was prestigious, it was held at a United Nations building, plus it's always fun to see Rotary friends that I've made while attending these different events.




Work

I got a part-time job! I'm working on the finance team (similar role to my life before coming to school) for the Council of British International Schools (COBIS). It's a remote, flexible, contract position until the summer so I feel blessed to have snagged the role.


I interviewed for the role in the Shard and I tried to channel Vince Lombardi thinking 'act like you've been there before' because that building is intimidating!





There has also been a lot of personal fun happening!

  • Champagne Gala with friends

  • Lots of new restaurants

  • Valentines Flowers from Dan



On a harder note, I lost my grandma this past week. She was nearly 94 years old and she lived a wonderful, full life that I know she was proud of. But as a granddaughter that was loved so incredibly well, it was tough to lose her. Living abroad brings lots of new adventures and friends and it's easy to see those things on social media. But losing people you love, missing holidays, friends having babies - those things tug at your heart when your thousands of miles away.


She loved to 'squish and squash' babies - here she is with my niece ❤️




Dan arrived yesterday for the week since I have a break from classes and we don't have anything big planned. He broke his ankle about a month ago when he fell on ice, so we're taking it slow. I think God, the universe, whatever you believe in, knew we needed this time to take some deep breaths and relax a bit - so I'm soaking it up.


Hope you're taking it slow if you need that too right now.


Brigitte

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page