top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrigitte Potter

Am I old? And other events.

Before heading back to the U.S. for holiday break I was able to speak at a few events!


I was invited to speak at the Head Pupils Evening that the Rotary Club of Enfield puts on annually. They are a club about an hour outside Central London and each year they invite all the 'Head Pupils' which I learned is a prestigious role that students are appointed to in their final year of high school and are expected to be leaders and role models. I spoke to them about my schooling, volunteer and work experience, and the process of being a Global Grant Scholar.


I'll admit, I felt a little -old- as I tried to pass on some knowledge, but hearing their goals for college and beyond had me excited about who I will get to work alongside in just a few years.


Thanks for having me Enfield!





My host club here in London is the Rotary Club of Lewisham and Penge. They invited me for dinner (drool - it was one of the nicest meals I've had in London!) and to speak to their club about my program and long-term goals.


Lewisham and Penge is a smaller club, which means that we were able to have some thought provoking conversation after my presentation. People felt free to ask questions and provide feedback based on their own work experience which is always appreciated.


Decided to add Wisconsin and Milwaukee specifically to my presentations. I love Milwaukee and was over telling people I'm 'an hour north of Chicago'.


My final event to tell you all about was much less work for me! I got to simply attend a Quiz Night that Lewisham and Penge put on. There are some British vocabulary words that I've gotten used to: University = College, Crisps = Chips, Chips = Fries, Queue = Line, but for some reason calling Trivia Night, Quiz Night has been nearly impossible for me.


There was lots of laughing and I was able to provide well-informed answers such as 'Kim and Khloe Kardashian' and 'Pirates of the Caribbean'.


More posts to come on some travels and upcoming classes!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page